How the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) Impacts Locum Tenens Providers

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact makes it easier for physicians to obtain multistate licenses, giving them more options than ever to take locums tenens positions in other states and explore the country. While many states participate in the IMLC, not every state does, nor will every physician qualify. We explain the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, and how the IMLC can work for you.

What is the IMLC?

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) allows qualified physicians to obtain a license in multiple states, without applying for a license in each of the respective states. Four out of five physicians meet the criteria necessary to participate in the IMLC.

How does the IMLC help me?

Historically, obtaining a license to practice medicine in more than one state was time-consuming. Each state required its own application, credential check, and background investigation. The main benefit of the IMLC is that it expedites the process for multistate licensure. This makes it easier for physicians to participate in telemedicine. Perhaps more importantly, IMLC frees physicians to accept locum tenens positions in almost half the states in the US.

See Locum Tenens Jobs Available Now

How can I participate in the IMLC?

Currently, you can participate in the IMLC if you are licensed in one of the states of principal license (SPL) states. More specifically, you must have your principal license in an IMLC SPL state. The state of your principal license is generally your home state. This means one or more of four situations apply:

  • You have a primary residence in that state
  • At least 25% of your practice occurs in that state
  • Your employer is located in the state
  • You list the state as your residence on federal income tax forms

You must also meet several criteria related to education, credentialing, and criminal history. Your current medical license must also be free of disciplinary actions.

Once you apply, your SPL will perform a new background check, verify the credentials on your application, and check your existing license for negative marks. Once passed, you can apply to obtain a license to practice in any of the IMLC member states, whether they are an SPL or not. No additional paperwork is needed beyond a short form application and the license fee.

What states currently participate in the IMLC?

The IMLC currently exists in 22 states, 13 of which serve as states of principal license (SPL) states. Legislation to enact the IMLC has passed in two other states, Pennsylvania and Tennessee, but there have been delays in implementing the program. Legislation that would allow the IMLC has been introduced in six other states and the District of Columbia.

IMLC Member States that serve as a state of principal license (SPL):

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

IMLC Member States that are not a state of principal license (SPL):

  • Colorado
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington

States in which IMLC legislation has passed but implementation has been delayed:

  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee

Legislation has been introduced to state legislatures:

  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

If you are a physician interested in learning more about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, and how it can help you jumpstart your locum tenens journey, contact the experts at NEXTLocums.